Negativity

UPDATE:

As of February 10, 2008, the Being a Mom is Great blog has moved here (www.soapboxmom.com). Please visit Soapbox Mom to read more articles by this author (bmg mom is now Soapboxmom).

_________________________

Mediocrity always attacks excellence.
I heard a guest on Oprah’s TV show say that quote and I have to say I love it.

I might also rephrase it this way, “Grumpy, sour, bitter people often feel a need to attack happy, joyful people.”

I’ve been increasingly discouraged by negative people whom I’m convinced try to pull down happy go lucky people like me. A few years ago, a woman actually left a voice mail on my phone once berating me for having such a cheerful outgoing message. She obviously dialed a wrong number (I didn’t recognize her voice) and urged me to change my message because it was ridiculously happy. Yes, really!

I was stunned and saddened. Until I realized that that was probably precisely her intent.

More recently, I’ve found that one of my acquaintances loves to find fault with just about anything my family does and I can’t help but wonder if it’s because our family has such a good time. We really enjoy each other’s company. We play together and enjoy it! We laugh and get really silly. We avoid haughty, pretentious behaviors in favor of down to earth, Midwestern niceness.

And sometimes it’s hard for me to accept that some people really don’t like that!

Ah well.

The older I get, the more I believe that it doesn’t matter what other people think of me. I am who I am and I happen to like myself and my family.

Comments Off on Negativity

Filed under family, personal, Thoughts

Comments are closed.